Davies announces retirement

38-year-old striker Kevin Davies has announced his retirement via twitter after being released by Preston North End in July.

The bruising frontman spent much of last season sitting on bench watching on as Joe Garner and Jermaine Beckford led the Lilywhites to league One success and eventual promotion.

Davies making his first and only England appearance in a Euro 2012 qualifier against Montenegro.
Davies making his first and only England appearance in a Euro 2012 qualifier against Montenegro.

Davies spent 22 years as a professional footballer, in this time he spent spells with Blackburn and Southampton but his most fruitful spell came with Bolton wanderers, making over 400 appearances for the Lancashire club. During his 10 years with the Trotters he racked up 85 goals and even earnt one solitary England cap in 2010, at the tender age of 33. It’s difficult to believe that someone brought in as a free transfer to cover for injury and maybe grab the odd goal could become such an icon and an inspiration to so many Bolton fans.

He departed the Reebok in 2013 after age got the better of him at the upper echelons of the English leagues, but Preston becomes and soon he would lead the line once again, this time in the third tier.

Speaking to talkSPORT, Davies confirmed: “I’m officially retired. I’m not playing anywhere at the moment and I’ve spoken to a lot of people about it. It’s a big decision for me and my family, and it just feels like the right time for me.

“It’s going to be strange, having done it for the last 22 years professionally, being in that routine of getting up and training with the boys every day, so I’ll miss that part of it, the competing and the comradery. “But I’m enjoying the other side of it as well, I’ve done a bit of coaching locally and I’m doing lots of media work at the minute which I’m finding really enjoyable, so I’m feeling ok.”

Leave a Reply

